.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

Generic Confusion

When you leave, my blog just fades to grey
Nu ma nu ma iei, nu ma nu ma nu ma iei

News? Check. Politics? Check. Music? Check. Random thoughts about life? Check. Readership? Ummm.... let me get back to you on that. Updated when I feel like I have something to say, and remember to post it.

Saturday, October 08, 2005

Nobel Peace Prize

Thursday, the Indianapolis Star ran an article that this might be the year that Senators Lugar and Nunn win the Nobel Peace Prize for their efforts to deactivate nuclear weapons and other weapons of mass destruction in the former Soviet Union and elsewhere.

Friday, we learned that the prize instead went to Mohamed El Baradei and the IAEA. This same organization couldn't stop two nations (signatories of the nuclear non-proliferation treaty as non-nuclear powers) from working towards or developing nuclear weapons. Obviously, this prize is well-deserved recognition for a very successful year. *gag*

So, instead of an organization that has overseen the reduction of nuclear weapons, the prize goes to an organization that has overseen an increase in nuclear weapons. Just wonderful.

So, in recent years, the prize has gone to the UN, which failed to stop wars in Rwanda, Sudan, and elsewhere; Jimmy Carter, who failed to stop the belligerence of North Korea; and Yasser Arafat, who failed to stop the belligerence of the Palestinians.

I suggest we rename the prize the Nobel Prize for Failure.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home